User Menu

About Us

The Wagner Society in Queensland is an incorporated society, the model rules of which are in accordance with the Associations Incorporations Act of 1981.

It holds monthly meetings on Saturday afternoons at Queensland Multicultural Centre or small screenings in members’ homes.

These meetings provide a range of activities including talks by guest speakers who may deal with any aspect related to Wagner’s works and their performance; screenings of video-recordings of staged Wagner operas; and live performances by local singers. Relevant personalities and composers other than Wagner, especially those influenced by him, are sometimes the subject of these meetings.

Following these activities, there is an opportunity for socialising and discussion over refreshments.

The society is committed to promoting the works of the composer in the wider community. Examples of its activities in this regard have been a highly successful day-long symposium on Das Rheingold, in co-operation with Queensland Conservatorium Griffith University, which was attended by Wagnerites from all over Australia, a weekend of Opera Scenes, an annual Encouragement Award to a Queensland Conservatorium student and the 2013 Wagner Bicentenary Competition for Composers. 

The society has sponsored Queenslander Bradley Daley in his role as Walther von Stolzing in August 2018.

This last, where competitors submitted a short chamber work quoting or making use of one or more themes from Wagner’s stage works, was won by young Queenslander John Rotar.

Richard Wagner’s birthday is traditionally marked via a celebratory luncheon.

The Wagner Society of Queensland is a member of The International Association of Richard Wagner Societies – Der Richard-Wagner-Verband International (RWVI). Information regarding The International Association of Richard Wagner Societies can be found at Der Richard-Wagner-Verband International (RWVI) .

The Society is registered with the Australian Charities and Not-for-profits Commission (ACNC).

Professor: Lisa Gasteen

Professor Lisa Gasteen AO

The society is proud to have as its patron celebrated Wagner soprano, Professor Lisa Gasteen AO.

Joseph Ward OBE

Joseph Ward OBE

Honorary Life Member:  Joseph Ward OBE, distinguished opera singer and voice coach.



Honorary Life Memberships have been awarded  to former President of the Society, Hal Davis, current Secretary, Jennette Johnstone and former Treasurer Dr Theo Baer for  their many years of dedicated service. 

The Management Committee


Our  Donors:                      

Many of our members give financial support to the Society.  Donations are tax-deductible and contribute to the awards we give to promising students.

We would like to thank the following members for their generosity:

Dr Theo and Mrs Lyn Baer
Mrs Margaret Baker-Genovesi
Dr Peter Bassett
Mr Paul Caesar
Dr John Casey
Dr Timothy and Dr Mary Rose Cooney
Mr Nanda Gulhane
Mrs Jennette Johnstone
Mr Martin and Mrs Andrea Kriewaldt
Dr Colin Mackerras
Mrs Elizabeth Scarlett
Mrs Laurel Sommerfeld
Dr James Spence
Dr Mark Walker
Ms Kerry Ward

Nibelung Bureau – Our  Volunteers:

When the first Bayreuth Festival was being organised prior to 1876, Richard Wagner established a group of volunteer supporters whom he called, light-heartedly, his ‘Nibelung Bureau’. The contributions of the Bureau’s members were vital, and they became part of Wagnerian history.

Inspired by that historic model, The Wagner Society in Queensland is now considering creating its own ‘Nibelung Bureau’ to complement the work of its Management Committee.

Many members already play important voluntary roles and will be valued participants in our Nibelung Bureau. These include:

The Catering Group: 
Co-ordinator Membership Secretary Sheena Burnell; Jenny Krassnig; Elizabeth Scarlett; Susan Treloar; Theo and Lyn Baer; Peter Jansen and members Sue Thomas, Patricia Jackson, Nanda Gulhane and Carol Bassett.

Additional volunteers are urgently needed to share rostered responsibilities at monthly meetings. Catering costs are met from official funds. Voluntary donations are welcomed and appreciated.

Reporting of meetings for the website: 
Paul Caesar; Margaret Baker-Genovesi.

Photographic record: 
Co-ordinator Hal Davis. Stephanie Hinrichs. Additional volunteers are invited.

Audio-visual technical support: 
(At present ad hoc.) Stephanie Hinrichs. More volunteers are invited.

Event set-up and dismantling:
(At present ad hoc.) Bette Jansen. More volunteers also invited.

Web site:
Stephanie Hinrichs.


If you would like to add your name to our list of volunteers, please send an email to Committee Secretary Jennette Johnstone at indicating the area in which you would like to lend a hand.

This will make a huge difference in helping our Society to undertake interesting and varied activities. Please consider joining the Nibelung Bureau. I’m sure you will enjoy it!

Peter Bassett, President